EECE Seminar - Dr. Alessandro Gomez

Brauer Hall, room 12

Dr. Alessandro Gomez, Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Yale University

Multiplexed Electrosprays for the Synthesis of Nanomaterials and Other Applications

ABSTRACT: The cone-jet electrospray has revolutionized the field of mass spectrometry but, despite the unique ability of this device to produce quasi-monodispersed particles in a phenomenal size range down to the nanoscale, it has not been applied to other fields, except for small scale proof-of-concept demonstrations. The primary reason for the lack of widespread use is the low flow rate at which the spray is dispersed. Using fluid mechanics and electrostatics, we a) developed criteria for compact multiplexing to increase flow rate drastically, b) microfabricated systems with high packing densities (1.1 104 sources/cm2), reducing the cost per electrospray source, and c) demonstrated successful operation of these devices in the synthesis of nanomaterials and other applications. In this presentation I will review design criteria and discuss a few applications.

BIO: Professor Gomez received a Laurea in Ingegneria Aeronautica from University of Naples (Italy) in 1980, and a Masters and Ph.D. in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Princeton University in 1982 and 1986, respectively. After a postdoctoral and lectureship experience in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Yale, he joined the Faculty of the Department of Mechanical Engineering in 1989, where he raised through the ranks to his current position as professor. His research interests focus on fundamentals of combustion and of electrostatic spray processes with applications. Coauthor of more than 100 articles in the peer-reviewed literature, he has been the recipient of a NSF Young Investigator Award, the Whitby Award from the American Association for Aerosol Research and awards from the Fulbright Foundation, the Von Karman Institute of Fluid Mechanics, ATA Fiat Research Center, and Aeritalia. He is a Fellow of the Combustion Institute and member of the Connecticut Academy of Science. For further details see

Organizer / Host: Dr. Axelbaum