Langdorf Scholars, alumni gather for inaugural summit

Alumni and students who have received Langsdorf, Woodward, Pace and Myers scholarships in the School of Engineering & Applied Science gathered April 20-21 for networking and to share ideas at an inaugural summit.

More than 60 students and alumni, ranging from the Class of 1972 to the Class of 2021, gathered on the Danforth Campus to learn more about the past, present and future of the Langsdorf Scholars program and the School; to hear from several alumni and faculty about their work, and to get to know each other and network over meals.

Langsdorf Scholars and graduating seniors Kailin Baechle, who will earn a bachelor’s degree in biomedical engineering, and Sydney Katz, who will earn bachelor’s degrees in electrical engineering and in applied science (systems science & engineering), spearheaded the summit after talking a year ago about the interesting Langsdorf alums they had met.

“The Langsdorf alumni have all done really incredible things in their lives and careers, and we thought that the networking and brainstorming that could take place with a larger group of Langsdorf scholars from various fields in the same place could be really unique,” Baechle said.

“The Langsdorf Scholars programming for current students has been greatly expanded over the past few years, and the current students have truly been family for Sydney and me for our past four years here,” Baechle said. “As we prepare to graduate and become alums ourselves, we wanted to extend the tight-knit community we've found in the Langsdorf program here at WashU to include all of the past Langsdorf, Woodward, Pace and Myers alumni.”

Baechle and Katz said they hope the 2018 Langsdorf Scholars Summit is the first of many concerted efforts to unite current and past Langsdorf Scholars and help spread the word about the strength of the Langsdorf Scholars program.

“Seeing the past scholars, some who hadn't been back to campus for a very long time, reminiscing on their years at WashU and sharing their career experiences assured us that we accomplished our goal of growing the Langsdorf network,” Baechle said.

Faculty who presented their research were:

  • Philip Bayly, the Lilyan & E. Lisle Hughes Professor of Mechanical Engineering and chair, mechanical engineering & materials science;
  • Sanmay Das, associate professor, computer science & engineering;
  • Vijay Ramani, Roma B. & Raymond H. Wittcoff Distinguished University Professor, energy environmental & chemical engineering.

Since the scholarships began, more than 500 Engineering students have received an honors scholarship.