Academy honors university faculty

The honorees will be recognized at an awards dinner at the Missouri Botanical Garden

Alethea Franklin 

Six Washington University in St. Louis faculty members and one alumnus are being honored by the Academy of Science – St. Louis for their outstanding contributions to the field. They will be recognized at an awards dinner Sept. 20 at the Missouri Botanical Garden.

Dedric Carter serves as the university’s vice chancellor for innovation and chief commercialization officer. He is also a professor of practice at the McKelvey School of Engineering and at Olin Business School. Carter is being honored with the Science Leadership Award, which recognizes an individual or organization that has played an important leadership role in the development of science and scientists in the St. Louis region.

Guy Genin is the Harold and Kathleen Faught Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the McKelvey School of Engineering and a co-director at the NSF Science and Technology Center for Engineering MechanoBiology. Genin is being honored with the James B. Eads Award, which recognizes a distinguished individual for outstanding achievement in engineering or technology.

In addition, Jim McKelvey Jr., a university trustee who earned degrees in computer science and economics from WashU in 1987, also will receive the Science Leadership Award. McKelvey is an entrepreneur who has founded or co-founded multiple startups, including Square, now Block Inc. 

Read the full story here.

Back to News